Subdivisions & Blocks

For administrative convenience, Chandigarh is divided into three Sub Divisions i.e. Central, East and East Sub Division.

SDM (East)


The SDM(E) office was set up in the year 2002 and was located in the CTU Complex Industrial Area, Phase-I, Chandigarh.

Police Station Jurisdiction Areas
Police Station Sector 26 7, 26, 27, 28, Grain Market, Bapu Dham Colony, Transport Area
Police Station Sector 19 Sector 18, 19, 20 & 21
Police Station Industrial Area Sector 29 & 30, Indl Area, Phase-1, Colony No. 4, Village Raipur Khurd, Daria, Makhan Majra
Police Station Manimajra Manimajra, Modern Complex
Police Station Mauli Jagran Mauli Jagran, Raipur Kalan, Railway Colony
Police Station IT Park IT Park, Kishangarh, Bhagwanpura, Indira Colony
Police Station Sector 31 Sector 31, 47 & 48, Villages Bairmajra, Karsan, Hallomajra, Gagar Majra, Kanth, Behlana, Jhumru, Industrial Area, Phase II, Air Field

Revenue Jurisdictional Area


Raipur Khurd, Daria, Makhan Majra, Kishangarh, Bhagwanpura, , Mauli Jagran, Raipur Kalan, Bairmajra, Karsan, Hallomajra, Gagar Majra, Kanth, Behlana, Jhumru.

Colonies & Other Areas

Bapu Dham Colony, Transport Area, Colony No. 4, Manimajra, Indira Colony (Manimajra), Modern Complex (Manimajra) Indl Area, Phase-1 & II,& Railway Colony, Air Field.

SDM (South)


In April, 2003, the office of the SDM(S) was shifted to Sports Complex, Hockey Stadium, Sector 42, Chandigarh where it is presently situated. The jurisdictional area of the South Sub Division consists of three Police Stations viz Sec 34, 36, 39, 49, PS Maloya and villages (Maloya, Kajheri, Badheri, Attawa, Buterla, Burail, Palsora, Nizampur, Kumbra, Dadu Majra). The SDM (South) is the estate officer for eviction cases under the Public Premises Act, 1971. In addition to this, the SDM (South) also deals with cases regarding the mutation of land and property, building violation, property misuse, non execution of lease deed and deed of conveyance, non payment, non construction, sub-letting, violation of term & condition of allotment, maintenace of senior citizen, noise pollution. The South Sub Division offers facilities issuance of certificates for scheduled castes and OBCs. The SDM (South) gives permissions such as on the use of loudspeakers. Also late registration of births and death are permitted from the office for the people living in the southern sectors. The area of operation is all sectors south of the Dakshin Marg. Thus, all sectors starting from Sector 32 to Sector 56 and also 504 Chandigarh Housing Board flats in Sector 61, Maloya, Kajheri, Badheri, Attawa, Buterla, Burail and Faidan villages are included in its area of operation.

Citizen Charter

The SDM (South) office deals with registration of new motor vehicles, issuance of different types of certificates, approval of title for starting newspapers/ magazines/ journals etc and after approval declaration thereof under the Press and Registration of Books Act, 1967. The office also deals with Court Cases under preventive sections of Cr.PC, eviction cases under P.P Act, revenue cases viz contested mutations and cases under P.V.C.L.A, 1961. In addition to this, sound permissions under the Punjab Instruments (Control of Noises Act 1956) and permission for holding function upto 500 gathering is granted by the office.

The Department is immensely pleased in presenting the CITIZEN’S CHARTER to the people with an objective of bringing in transparency and efficient service delivery in a time bound manner.

This CITIZEN’S CHARTER deals with the following major Services with largest public interface.

  1. Certificates
  2. New Vehicle Registration
  3. Permissions
  4. Miscellaneous

The CITIZEN’S CHARTER is an ever evolving process. It will be revised periodically on the basis of the experiences gained, feed back and suggestions received from the citizens.

The Department assures the best service delivery system to the citizens with commitment and dedication. The citizens have every right to demand the Services of the standards prescribed and commitments made in the CHARTER.

SDM (Central)


The SDM(C) office was set up in the year 2000 and was located in the Estate Office Building, Sec 17.